为更健康的人打造绿色建筑宣传图片
报告摘要:

为更健康的人打造绿化建筑确定建设规模的机会,同时以具有成本效益的方式加速应对气候变化和健康的行动,最大限度地发挥它们的共同利益,并管理它们之间的任何紧张关系。作为简短的入门,该报告:

  • 明确地将气候变化与房地产受众的健康战略联系起来;
  • 在一份可访问的文件中汇编促进健康的气候减缓和复原力投资机会;和
  • 展示了对健康和气候战略采取综合方法的案例,包括对租户、社区和房地产的许多好处。

这些机会存在于整个开发生命周期中,包括战术设计选择和战略房地产决策。通过有效和全面的行动,房地产专业人士可以同时克服实施气候减缓、复原力和健康措施的障碍,从而使租户和社区、行业和地球能够在未来蓬勃发展。

请提供有关此报告的任何反馈这里.欢迎所有评论并帮助建设健康场所倡议开发未来的出版物。

关键要点

  • 这些策略对租户、社区和房地产有很多好处。 本报告展示了房地产的商业案例,并描述了即使是一栋建筑也可以对租户和社区产生巨大影响。
  • 可持续性和健康目标通常是相容的。 尽管在某些情况下这些目标之间可能存在紧张关系,但本报告展示了气候和健康不必竞争甚至可以相互补充的许多方式。
  • 组合策略可以同时加速实现多个目标。 COVID-19 大流行导致迅速动员起来改善室内空气质量和建筑物中的其他健康措施。利用这一势头同时致力于健康和气候解决方案可以帮助加快这两个方面的进展。
  • 灵活性是必不可少的。 无论是设计适应不同理想温度的空间、根据占用情况为办公区域通风,还是创建也可以作为弹性中心的社区房间,灵活性对于开发和管理可以同时实现多个目标的建筑来说都是关键。
  • 股权必须是核心。 减缓气候变化的公共健康益处影响到每个人,但对于因地理位置、收入或现有健康状况而易受气候影响的人群而言,它们具有不成比例的益处。公平开发实践有助于确保新建筑将其健康和气候效益扩展到整个社区。

报告概览

受众包括开发商、业主和运营商,但租户也可以使用此报告来了解这些策略并在他们的建筑中倡导它们,建筑师可以向他们的建筑业主和开发商客户证明健康的绿色建筑。该报告讨论了 8 种机会中的 48 种策略,以促进健康,同时推进气候减缓和/或复原力。机会是:

  1. 选址
  2. 新建筑和场地设计
  3. 电气化和脱碳
  4. 能源效率
  5. 建筑材料
  6. 收购和处置
  7. 租赁
  8. 物业管理、运营和租户改进

本报告重点关注建筑物,因为它们提供的跨领域机会有助于减缓气候变化、恢复力和健康。建筑物产生了近 40% 的全球碳排放量,超过一半的美国建筑物处于灾害热点地区,美国人平均 90% 的时间都花在建筑物内。尽管这些策略侧重于新建筑,但许多策略也适用于现有建筑。

尽管该报告侧重于应对气候变化和健康的战略之间的协同作用,但它也注意到了一些紧张的情况。例如,增加室外空气的百分比可能会改善空气质量,但它也需要更多的风扇功率并且可能会增加能源消耗。然而,通常可以通过优化它们的共同利益的方式来管理这些紧张局势。

报告摘要:为更健康的人打造绿化建筑确定建设规模的机会,同时以具有成本效益的方式加速应对气候变化和健康的行动,最大限度地发挥它们的共同利益,并管理它们之间的任何紧张关系。作为简短的入门,该报告:

  • 明确地将气候变化与房地产受众的健康战略联系起来;
  • 在一份可访问的文件中汇编促进健康的气候减缓和复原力投资机会;和
  • 展示了对健康和气候战略采取综合方法的案例,包括对租户、社区和房地产的许多好处。

这些机会存在于整个开发生命周期中,包括战术设计选择和战略房地产决策。通过有效和全面的行动,房地产专业人士可以同时克服实施气候减缓、复原力和健康措施的障碍,从而使租户和社区、行业和地球能够在未来蓬勃发展。

请提供有关此报告的任何反馈这里.欢迎所有评论并帮助建设健康场所倡议开发未来的出版物。

关键要点

  • 这些策略对租户、社区和房地产有很多好处。 本报告展示了房地产的商业案例,并描述了即使是一栋建筑也可以对租户和社区产生巨大影响。
  • 可持续性和健康目标通常是相容的。 尽管在某些情况下这些目标之间可能存在紧张关系,但本报告展示了气候和健康不必竞争甚至可以相互补充的许多方式。
  • 组合策略可以同时加速实现多个目标。 COVID-19 大流行导致迅速动员起来改善室内空气质量和建筑物中的其他健康措施。利用这一势头同时致力于健康和气候解决方案可以帮助加快这两个方面的进展。
  • 灵活性是必不可少的。 无论是设计适应不同理想温度的空间、根据占用情况为办公区域通风,还是创建也可以作为弹性中心的社区房间,灵活性对于开发和管理可以同时实现多个目标的建筑来说都是关键。
  • 股权必须是核心。 减缓气候变化的公共健康益处影响到每个人,但对于因地理位置、收入或现有健康状况而易受气候影响的人群而言,它们具有不成比例的益处。公平开发实践有助于确保新建筑将其健康和气候效益扩展到整个社区。

报告概览

受众包括开发商、业主和运营商,但租户也可以使用此报告来了解这些策略并在他们的建筑中倡导它们,建筑师可以向他们的建筑业主和开发商客户证明健康的绿色建筑。该报告讨论了 8 种机会中的 48 种策略,以促进健康,同时推进气候减缓和/或复原力。机会是:

  1. 选址
  2. 新建筑和场地设计
  3. 电气化和脱碳
  4. 能源效率
  5. 建筑材料
  6. 收购和处置
  7. 租赁
  8. 物业管理、运营和租户改进

本报告重点关注建筑物,因为它们提供的跨领域机会有助于减缓气候变化、恢复力和健康。建筑物产生了近 40% 的全球碳排放量,超过一半的美国建筑物处于灾害热点地区,美国人平均 90% 的时间都花在建筑物内。尽管这些策略侧重于新建筑,但许多策略也适用于现有建筑。

尽管该报告侧重于应对气候变化和健康的战略之间的协同作用,但它也注意到了一些紧张的情况。例如,增加室外空气的百分比可能会改善空气质量,但它也需要更多的风扇功率并且可能会增加能源消耗。然而,通常可以通过优化它们的共同利益的方式来管理这些紧张局势。

有关的
网络研讨会

应对气候变化和健康的整体方法

在整个 COVID-19 大流行期间,许多房地产公司扩大了他们的可持续发展计划,将病毒安全包括在内。与此同时,减少碳排放等其他 ESG 承诺仍然必不可少。这些优先事项通常是相容的:加强健康—是否与传染病、慢性病或心理健康有关—长期以来一直是绿色建筑的目标,越来越多的证据表明,绿色建筑通常对健康和认知功能更好。
话题
中心和倡议
建设健康场所倡议

特色内容支柱

  • 住房和社区
  • 房地产金融投资
  • 塑造成功的城市和地区
  • 可持续性和经济绩效
  • 发展实践创新

Americas
Green Buildings for Healthier People promo image
Report Summary:

Greening Buildings for Healthier People identifies building-scale opportunities to simultaneously and cost-effectively accelerate action on climate change and health, maximize their co-benefits, and manage any tensions between them. As a short primer, the report:

  • Explicitly makes the links between climate change and health strategies for a real estate audience;
  • Compiles opportunities for health-promoting investments in climate mitigation and resilience in one accessible document; and
  • Demonstrates the case for taking an integrated approach to health and climate strategies, including the many benefits for tenants, communities, and real estate.

These opportunities exist throughout the development life cycle and include both tactical design choices and strategic real estate decisions. By acting efficiently and holistically, real estate professionals can overcome barriers to implementing climate mitigation, resilience, and health measures at the same time, so that tenants and communities, the industry, and the planet can thrive well into the future.

Please provide any feedback on this report here. All comments are welcome and help the Building Healthy Places Initiative develop future publications.

Key Takeaways

  • These strategies have many benefits for tenants, communities, and real estate. This report demonstrates the business case for real estate and describes how even one building can have an outsized impact for tenants and communities.
  • Sustainability and health goals are often compatible. Although tension can exist between these goals in some instances, this report demonstrates the many ways in which climate and health do not have to compete and can even complement each other.
  • Combining strategies can accelerate progress toward multiple goals at the same time. The COVID-19 pandemic resulted in a quick mobilization to improve indoor air quality and other health measures in buildings. Using this momentum to simultaneously work on health and climate solutions can help accelerate progress on both fronts.
  • Flexibility is essential. Whether designing spaces that accommodate different ideal temperatures, ventilating office zones based on occupancy, or creating community rooms that can also serve as resilience hubs, flexibility is key to developing and managing buildings that can accomplish multiple goals at once.
  • Equity must be at the core. The public health benefits of mitigating climate change affect everyone, but they have a disproportionate benefit for populations that are made vulnerable to climate impacts through their location, income, or existing health conditions. Equitable development practices can help ensure that new buildings extend their health and climate benefits to the whole community.

Report Overview

The audience includes developers, owners, and operators, but tenants can also use this report to learn about these strategies and advocate for them in their buildings, and architects can make the case for healthy green buildings to their building owner and developer clients. The report discusses 48 strategies within eight opportunities for promoting health while advancing climate mitigation and/or resilience. The opportunities are:

  1. Site Selection
  2. New Building and Site Design
  3. Electrification and Decarbonization
  4. Energy Efficiency
  5. Building Materials
  6. Acquisition and Disposition
  7. Leasing
  8. Property Management, Operations, and Tenant Improvements

This report focuses on buildings because of the cross-cutting opportunities to contribute to climate mitigation, resilience, and health that they offer. Buildings generate nearly 40 percent of global carbon emissions, more than half of U.S. buildings are in disaster hotspots, and Americans spend, on average, 90 percent of their time inside buildings. Although the strategies focus on new buildings, many can be applied to existing buildings as well.

Although the report focuses on synergies between strategies tackling climate change and health, it also notes instances of tension. For example, increasing the percentage of outdoor air may improve air quality, but it also requires more fan power and may increase energy consumption. However, it is often possible to manage these tensions in ways that optimize their co-benefits.

Report Summary: Greening Buildings for Healthier People identifies building-scale opportunities to simultaneously and cost-effectively accelerate action on climate change and health, maximize their co-benefits, and manage any tensions between them. As a short primer, the report:

  • Explicitly makes the links between climate change and health strategies for a real estate audience;
  • Compiles opportunities for health-promoting investments in climate mitigation and resilience in one accessible document; and
  • Demonstrates the case for taking an integrated approach to health and climate strategies, including the many benefits for tenants, communities, and real estate.

These opportunities exist throughout the development life cycle and include both tactical design choices and strategic real estate decisions. By acting efficiently and holistically, real estate professionals can overcome barriers to implementing climate mitigation, resilience, and health measures at the same time, so that tenants and communities, the industry, and the planet can thrive well into the future.

Please provide any feedback on this report here. All comments are welcome and help the Building Healthy Places Initiative develop future publications.

Key Takeaways

  • These strategies have many benefits for tenants, communities, and real estate. This report demonstrates the business case for real estate and describes how even one building can have an outsized impact for tenants and communities.
  • Sustainability and health goals are often compatible. Although tension can exist between these goals in some instances, this report demonstrates the many ways in which climate and health do not have to compete and can even complement each other.
  • Combining strategies can accelerate progress toward multiple goals at the same time. The COVID-19 pandemic resulted in a quick mobilization to improve indoor air quality and other health measures in buildings. Using this momentum to simultaneously work on health and climate solutions can help accelerate progress on both fronts.
  • Flexibility is essential. Whether designing spaces that accommodate different ideal temperatures, ventilating office zones based on occupancy, or creating community rooms that can also serve as resilience hubs, flexibility is key to developing and managing buildings that can accomplish multiple goals at once.
  • Equity must be at the core. The public health benefits of mitigating climate change affect everyone, but they have a disproportionate benefit for populations that are made vulnerable to climate impacts through their location, income, or existing health conditions. Equitable development practices can help ensure that new buildings extend their health and climate benefits to the whole community.

Report Overview

The audience includes developers, owners, and operators, but tenants can also use this report to learn about these strategies and advocate for them in their buildings, and architects can make the case for healthy green buildings to their building owner and developer clients. The report discusses 48 strategies within eight opportunities for promoting health while advancing climate mitigation and/or resilience. The opportunities are:

  1. Site Selection
  2. New Building and Site Design
  3. Electrification and Decarbonization
  4. Energy Efficiency
  5. Building Materials
  6. Acquisition and Disposition
  7. Leasing
  8. Property Management, Operations, and Tenant Improvements

This report focuses on buildings because of the cross-cutting opportunities to contribute to climate mitigation, resilience, and health that they offer. Buildings generate nearly 40 percent of global carbon emissions, more than half of U.S. buildings are in disaster hotspots, and Americans spend, on average, 90 percent of their time inside buildings. Although the strategies focus on new buildings, many can be applied to existing buildings as well.

Although the report focuses on synergies between strategies tackling climate change and health, it also notes instances of tension. For example, increasing the percentage of outdoor air may improve air quality, but it also requires more fan power and may increase energy consumption. However, it is often possible to manage these tensions in ways that optimize their co-benefits.

RELATED
Webinar

Holistic Approaches to Climate Change and Health

Throughout the COVID-19 pandemic, many real estate companies expanded their sustainability plans to include viral safety. At the same time, other ESG commitments, such as reducing carbon emissions, remain essential. These priorities are often compati...
Topics
Centers and Initiatives
Building Healthy Places Initiative

Featured Content Pillars

  • Housing and Communites
  • Real Estate Finance and Investment
  • Shaping Successful Cities and Regions
  • Sustainability and Economic Performance
  • Innovation in Development Practice